top of page

State of the game - June 2019

When I started the project, I estimated that it would take about five 'person years' to complete the game, and right now I'm a little over two years into it. So, the game is about half-way done at this point. After the Early Access release, I might hire an artist or two to help out, so in terms of a release timeline the game may be significantly past the half-way point, with production speeding up a bit as it goes along. I'm planning on a tentative Early Access release date of February 2020.


The art and music styles are well established, and most types of assets are represented in the game now. The game will probably feature three main areas/regions. Currently, all three are in the game, although all of them are likely to become larger than their current size by the time of Final Release. I'm focused mainly on creating the game systems in these areas, and as the game gets closer to the final release I'll be focusing more on adding content.

The main gameplay pillars are up-and-running. This includes gathering resources and crafting, science missions, some base building and a bit of the narrative. Some other game systems, including music/rhythm gameplay are in a Work-In-Progress state.


I'm pretty excited about the current status of the game, and I look forward to completing a bunch more work leading up to the Early Access launch and beyond!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What will this blog be about?

Of course, this blog will be about Outpost On Syrinx. Also, it may cover thoughts on creativity, development progress and game development in general, the Indie game industry, synergy between music an

bottom of page